Un zijn sënabh anët… a poem in Efenol

[Note: So far, I’ve tried to publish weekly (though not always on the same weekday). However, started college a couple of weeks ago so I’ll have much less free time. Because of that, I won’t be able to publish so often.]

Today I’ll share with you a text in Efenol, one of my Spanish-based conlangs. I’ve made some changes to this language since the last time I wrote a post about it, so this text will show you how the as-of-yet most updated version of Efenol looks like.

The text I translated is an old Spanish ballad: Romance of the Lover and Death (in Spanish: Romance del Enamorado y la Muerte, notice that the word ‘romance’ here stands for a kind of ballads which were popular in Spain during the Middle Ages). As usual, a glossed text follows.

Romanth del’Enamoradh i a·Mhyrth

Un zijn sënabh anët,
sijnid de mhi alva.
Sënabh con mis’emër
c’en mi breith lo tenî.
Bi enthar mucher my blanch,
myt ma c’a·nîbh fir.
– Com ath enthadh Amor?
Com ath enthadh Bidh?
A·pyrth ethan therhadh,
binthein i thilëi.
– No së l’Amor, amanth;
së a·Mhyrth, Deo m’emî.
– Â, Myrth tan ryrô,
dech-me bivir un dî!
– Un dî no pydh ser,
un or tîz de bhidh.

My defirz se cgalthabh,
ma defirz se bhethî.
Sea se bha pâr a·gâl
don su amor bivî.

– Aver-mhe a·byrth, Blanca!
Aver-mhe a·byrth nîn!
– Com te podherê seo avir
si l’ogeithôn no ê benidh?
Mi pbadher no fy a·phaleith,
mi mhadher no eth dorvidh.
– Si no m’aver aor
sea no m’avirâ, ceridh!
A·Mhyrth m’eth buchan,
chunth ti, bidh serî!
– Ben-the bach a·bhenthan
don lavarbh i coî.
T’itarê un cordhôn de hedh
par ce hubh arhibh.
I si e·chordhôn no alchanth
mi trinth einadhirî!
A fin sedh se ronf;
a·Mhyrth c’alhi bhenî:
– Bam, enamoradh,
l’or sea eth cunfildh.

Note: This text (and virtually any other Efenol text I’ve shared before) is written in Eastern Efenol. I’ve recently decided that modern Efenol will have three dialects: East, North and South (apart from Old Efenol). I may write about those varieties in the future 😉

Romanth del’Enamoradh i a·Mhyrth. (Tittle)
/roˈmänθ de.leˌnä.moˈɾäð i äˈvyɾθ/
romanth de+-l’ enamoradh i a+ Death
Romance of-the.SG one_in_love and the.FEM.SG Death.
Romance of the Lover and Death
Notes: SG = Singular, FEM = Feminine. Particles such as a (feminine singular “the”) may trigger mutations on the following consonant (such as m→mh (/m/→/v/) in a·Mhyrth). The + indicates that a word triggers lenition (aka soft mutation).

Un zijn sënabh anët,
/unˈzyːn seːˈnäβ äˈneːt/
un sijn sën-abh anët
a.SG dream dream-PFTV.I last_night
A dream I dreamt last night,
Notes: PFTV = Imperfective aspect. When the article un is followed by a word which starts with S, the S will often get voiced: sijn→zijn. Efenol words starting with Z are very rare, so it’s safe to assume that if a word with Z follows the word un, the Z is actually an S.

sijnid de mhi alva.
/ˈsyː.nid de viˈäl.vä/
sijn-id de+ mi alva
dream-DIMINUTIVE of my soul
little dream of my soul.

Sënabh con mis’emër
/ˈseːˈnäβ kon mi.seˈmeːɾ/
sën-abh con mi(s)-amor.(I)
dream-PFTV.I with my.PL-love.PL
I dreamt of my lovers [literally ‘loves‘]
Notes: PL = Plural. The plural form of an Efenol noun is made by ablauting its vowel (represented in the third gloss with an I in brackets).

c’en mi breith lo tenî.
/ken mi bɾei̯θ lo teˈniː/
ce en mi brath-(I) lo tenî
that in my arm-PL them have/hold.I.PFTV
which I held on my arms.
Notes: Some particles such as ce (that) will often form contractions: ce en → c’en. The word ce has two meanings: “that/which” (introducing sub-clauses, as in the one that is red) and “what“. The word ce only contracts when it’s used with the former meaning: A·gach c’eth arhib (The box that is above) vs Ce eth arhibh d’es cach? (What is above that box?).

Bi enthar mucher my blanch,
/bi enˈθäɾ muˈxeɾ my bläŋx/
bi enthar mucher my blanch
see.PAST.I enter.INFINITIVE woman very white
I saw a woman entering [my chamber]…

myt ma c’a·nîbh fir.
/myt mä käˈniːβ fiɾ/
myt ma ce-a+-nîbh fir.
much more than-the.SG.F-snow cold
whose skin was whiter than cold snow.

– Com ath enthadh Amor?
/kom äθ enˈθäð äˈmoɾ/
com ath enthadh Amor
how have(aux).PAST.you enter.PART love
“How did you enter, Love?

Com ath enthadh Bidh?
/kom äθ enˈθäð bið/
com ath enthadh Bidh
how have(aux).PAST.you enter.PART life
How did you enter, Life?

A·pyrth ethan therhadh,
/äˈpyɾθ eˈθän θeˈʀäð/
a-pyrth.(I) ethan therhadh
the.FEM.PL-door.PL stative_be.PRES.they close.PART
Doors are closen,

Binthein i thilëi
/binˈθei̯n i θiˈleː.i/
benthan.(I) i theloi.(I)
window.PL and lattice.PL
[so are]) windows and lattices.”

– No së l’Amor, amanth;
/no seː läˈmoɾ | äˈmänθ/
no së l’-Amor amanth
no/not be.PRES.I the-love lover
“I am not love, lover;

së a·Mhyrth, Deo m’emî.
/seː äˈvyɾθ | djo meˈmiː/
së a+-Myrth, Deo me-emî
be.PRES.I the.FEM.SG-Death, God me-send.PFTV
I am Death, God has sent me.”

– Â, Myrth tan ryrô,
/äː˦ myɾθ tän ryˈɾoː/
â myrth tan ryrô
oh death so severe
“Oh, severe Death

dech-me bivir un dî!
/ˈdex.me biˈviɾ un diː/
dech-me bivir un dî
leave/let.IMP.you-me live.INF one day
let me live for one [more] day!”

– Un dî no pydh ser,
/un diː no pyð seɾ/
un dî no pydh ser,
one day not be_able.PRES.3PS be.INF
“It cannot be a day,

un or tîz de bhidh.
/un oɾ tiːz de við/
un or tîz de+ bidh
a hour have.PRES.you of life
you have a hour of life.

My defirz se cgalthabh
/my deˈfiɾz se gälˈθäβ/
my defirz se calthabh
very quickly [reflexive_pr.] put_on_shoes.IPFV.3PS
So quickly he put on his shoes,
Notes: Some mutations are optional: se calthab ~ se cgalthabh. When not preceeded by an article, a mutated P, T or C is written pb, td and cg respectively (instead of just b, d and g).

ma defirz se bhethî.
/mä deˈfiɾz se veˈθiː/
ma defirz se bethî
more quickly [reflexive_pr.] dress.IPFV.3PS
even quicker he got dressed.

Sea se bha pâr a·gâl
/ʃä se vä päːɾ äˈgäːl/
sea se ba pâr a+-câl
already [REFL] go.PRES.3PS to the.SG.FEM-street
Now he goes to the street

don su amor bivî.
/don zu äˈmoɾ biˈviː/
don su amor bivî
where 3PS.POSS love live.IMPF.3PS
where his loved one lived.

– Aver-me a-byrth, Blanca!
/ˈä.veɾ.me äˈbyɾθ ˈbläŋ.kä/
aver-me a+-pyrth Blanca
open.IMP-me.ACC the.SG.FEM-door Blanca
“Open the door for me, Blanca!
Note: According to some people, the word ‘Blanca’ (which is both a woman’s name and Spanish for ‘white’) in this verse is not the name of the protagonist’s girlfriend but just the word ‘white’, so the sentence would mean “Open the white door for me!” (this would be Aver-me a·byrth blanch in Efenol).

Aver-me a-byrth, nîn!
/ˈä.veɾ.me äˈbyɾθ niːn/
aver-me a+-pyrth nîn
open.IMP-me.ACC the.SG.FEM-door kid/little-girl
Open the door for me, little girl!”
Note: The word ‘nîn‘ appears here as a term of enderament, somewhat like ‘honey‘ or ‘darling‘.

– Com te podherê seo avir
/kom te po.ðeˈɾeː ʃo äˈviɾ/
Com te podherê seo avir
how you.DAT be_able.FUT.I I open.INF
“How may I open it
Note: The word seo (I) would be typically dropped in non-poetic Efenol.

si l’ogeithôn no ê benidh?
/si lo.gei̯ˈθoːn no eː beˈnið/
si l’-ogeithôn no ê benidh
if the-occasion not be.PRES.3pS come.PART
if it is not the right time for doing so?

Mi pbadher no fy a·phaleith,
/miˈbä.ðeɾ no fy ä fäˈlei̯θ/
mi pader no fy a* paleith
my father not go.PAST.3PS to.the palace
My father didn’t go to the palace,

Mi mhadher no eth dormidh.
/miˈvä.ðeɾ no eθ doɾˈmið/
mi mader no eth dormidh
my mother not be(stative).PRES.3PS sleep.PART
my mother is not asleep.”

– Si no m’aver aor
/si no ˈmä.veɾ äˈoɾ/
si no me aver aor
if not me.DAT open now
“If you don’t open it now

sea no m’avirâ, ceridh!
/ʃä no mä.viˈɾäː keˈɾið/
sea no me avirâ ceridh
already not me.DAT open.FUT.you dear
you will not open it for me anymore, my dear.

A·Mhyrth m’eth buchan.
/äˈvyɾθ meθ buˈxän/
a+-Myrth me eth buchan
the.FEM.SG-Death me.ACC be(stative).PRES.3PS search.GERUND
Death is looking for me,

chunth ti, bidh serî!
/xunθ ti bið seˈɾiː/
chunth ti bidh serî
alongside you life be.CONDITIONAL_MOOD.3PS
with you, it would be living!”

– Ben-the bach a·bhenthan
/ˈben.θe bäx ä.venˈθän/
ben-te bach a+-benthan
come.IMP you.ACC below the-window
“Come below the window

don lavarbh i coî.
/don läˈväɾv i koˈiː/
don lavarbh i coî
where embroider.IMPF.I and sew.IMPF.I
where I embroidered and sewed.

T’itarê un cordhôn de hedh
/ti.täˈɾeː un koɾˈðoːn deˈheð/
te itarê un cordhôn de+ sedh
you.DAT throw.FUT.I a lace of sil
I will throw you a silken lace

par ce hubh arhibh.
/päɾ keˈhuβ äʀiβ/
par ce subh arhibh
for that go_up.SUBJ.you up
so that you can climb up.

I si e·chordhôn no alchanth
/i si e.xoɾˈðoːn no älˈxänθ/
i si e-cordhôn no alchanth
and if the-lace not suffice.PRES.3PS
And if the lace is not long enough

mi trinth einadhirî!
/mi tɾinθ ei̯.nä.ðiˈɾiː/
mi trenth.(I) einadhirî
my braid-PL add.COND.I
I would add my braids.”

A fin sedh se ronf;
/äˈfin seð se ronf/
a fin sedh se ronf
the thin silk itself break.PRES.3PS
Thin silk breaks;

a·Mhyrth c’alhi bhenî:
/äˈvyɾθ käˈʎi veˈniː/
a+-Myrth ce alhi bhenî
the-Death that there come.IPFV.3pS
Death was arriving:

– Bam, enamoradh,
/bäm eˌnä.moˈɾäð/
bam enamoradh
go.IMP.we one.in.love
“Let’s go, lover,

l’or sea eth cunfildh
/loɾ ʃä eθ kuɱˈfilð/
ce l’-or sea eth cunfildh
that the-hour already be(stative).PRES.3PS completed
the hour is already over

Posted on 2012/03/10, in Efenol (en), English. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

