Pitá Ruqaha

Today, I want to introduce you to one of my latest conlangs. It’s called Pitá Ruqaha /piˈtã ruˈqaha/ (whose name means something like Language of the People) and is modeled after some native American languages. The result, however, can be said to be closer in look to some African (or even Polynesian!) languages!

I translated the lyrics of Latinoamérica, a song by the Puerto-Rican duet Calle 13, both as an example and as an exercise so as to consolidate the language’s grammar and to widen its lexicon.

Most of the lyrics are in Spanish in the original version and have been translated into Pitá Ruqaha. However, a few verses are in Portuguese in the original version. Those lines have been translated to Inaí a yet more recent conlang by me (created on November 7th!) which is related to Pitá Ruqaha just as Portuguese is related to Spanish. Inaí verses are colored dark green in the text below.

Qychiqe,
Andatyni
Achaphasuniha.
Vy rú kita na.
Saqua-qeha waphagichi chy nynymbase usuruqa.
Phavika-ihynaka-chiqe,
Ruqa isygi nakana qósumbu-chaha yo,
Andumbaraha ká ytiri qophi.
Anduri pyniñe’iha ká ya’i, chana-qeha.
Mbar ñymbana, dini sutuna
Sunari gíny’i ta.
Desarruchu yawa na chiqe,
Pinde puritiqa si’ivy tañe,
Naha’ak niriny’i tahini-qeyo,
Photugapiya andesaparisitu ta.
Yawachiqe yawysari-chaha na,
Mbanate gygy usuri-yo,
Qanda puchuri ta
Maradona ‘ahu Ígaterra, sá-gurak-suque,
Aphandaquechiqe vandera-qeha-ha,
Mbuniri-qeha qochari achaha mbanaha chi.
Pinderi tataqe gi chiqe:
Ñe mbanak a’imba chy ñe nanak a’imba.
Ambirikaratina-chiqe,
Ruqa tehari tañe wepa nána.

Warak ñe sununycha.
Mbaruk ñe sununy.
Suru’ak ñe sununycha.
Húq ñe sununy.
Chaqeyak ñe sununycha.
Sa’iyak ñe sununy.
Isík qeha ñe sununycha.
Rakíyak qeha ñe sununy.

Waqu’ak qehachi, iwa’ak qehachi.
Qokuak qehachi isiqo yo,
Ripi mbuniyak-qeha sa’isumbe yo,
Mbar qek supique, suriri qek wahuque.
Waye’i tukata piyoti ta.
Yaquati purqe-gi su’i yo qoyotiri ta.
Ahawani-qa qe-yo.
Yehu’ surú-chakak ‘ihuque qehachi.
Iñe’í mbuniriha.
Qoqotuqa vu-qeha kuqa’ak qohuque chiqe.
Turý sunýri ychi-tuqana ta.
Gunde dirita ká virsu’ak kivini.
Uvanku qatani uva’ak-ta.
Mbar Kuva-ha nu mbata’a.
Wahasutáchiqe chiyapha’ak nytaque
Waríri-awavindita ta.
Wara chirik-qeha chirisaque.
Qoru-qeha na sátuqa chiqe.
Ágiri sumbeha-qeha ñe suruqachi;
Avunu mbanaha-qeha mbágichi weyi qy.

Warak ñe sununycha.
Mbaruk ñe sununy.
Suru’ak ñe sununycha.
Húq ñe sununy.
Chaqeyak ñe sununycha.
Sa’iyak ñe sununy.
Isík qeha ñe sununycha.
Rakíyak qeha ñe sununy.

T’á ‘ól sunnýhý.
T’á Wál sunnýhý.
T’a sulá sunnýhý.
T’á rún sunnýhý.
T’a t’ak’á sunnýhý.
T’a saya sunnýhý.
T’a sín-k’é sunnýhý.
T’a léŋ-k’é sunuhý.

Mbaruk ñe sununy.
Suru’ak ñe sununycha.
Nándemba.. | Ai o iká na…
Nándemba… | Léŋ o kunna na..
Isak tephambe… | Mbar…
Chambak-qeha ñe sununycha.
Nándemba… | Mbanak ñe uvindípha.

Wehu-mbutu wepa suyú ta.
Qyna támbundemba, qeha chaha chi.
Qy-ruqa chakuqak nynymba
Wa quapemba chi qy susuqá tupha.
Chak taqoque ká ñe chirandeqe;
Apirindu-qeha umbiwácha yo.
Ta’iqa-Kundur nána tapa-qeha yo…
‘ukámbaqe wepa ñe tuqávimba.

Nándemba…
Qyna sumbek ‘ihuny.
Nándemba…
Qyk qoramba weyi su’imbaqe.
Isak tephambe…
P’óo múp’er…
Nándemba…
Qyna phorindipha!
Chamba Ambirika yo!

Chambak-qeha ñe sununycha.

I’m afraid that the translation is not completely accurate, but all discrepancies are minor unless the opposite is said. As usual, now comes a line per line analysis:

Qychiqe,
/qyˈt͡ʃike/
qy-chi-qe
this-be-I
This I am,
The verb ‘to be’ can be expressed as a suffix in this conlang. It should be pointed that it is neither uncommon among natural languages.

andatyni
/anda’tyni/
a+daty-ni
NOMN-leave-PP
The things that were left.
Three different participles can be derived from a Pitá Ruqaha verb: PP stands for passive participle (which is related to the object of a transitive verb):
daty (leave) → datyni (left, abandoned)
AP stands for active participle (though it may be more accurately described as a gerund), which is related to the subject of a transitive verb:
daty → datyqua (someone who leaves something, leaving, abandoning)
Finally, IP are intransitive participles. Intransitive verbs are treated distinctly in this conlang as conjugations often vary. Sometimes, the intransitive equivalent of a verb works as a semipassive voice (this, ‘to oneself’):
daty → datyna (self-abandoned)
Those participles are adjectives unless marked with the ‘nominalizer prefix’ (an A- which may trigger a change in the following consonant) which turns it into a noun.

achaphasuniha.
/at͡ʃapa’suniˌha/
a+taphasu-ni-ha
NOMN-steal-PP-POS
of what was stolen.
POS = Possessive.

Vy ru kita na.
/vy ru ki’ta na/
vy ru kita na.
town hidden summit LOC
A town hidden in the summit.
LOC = Locative (in).This conlang doesn’t employ articles such as English a and the and adjectives are placed after the corresponding noun.

Saqua-qeha wapagichi chy nynymbase usuruqa
/sa’kʷa ‘qeha wapʰagi’t͡ʃi | t͡ʃy nynym’base isu’ɽuqa/
saqua=qe-ha wapha-gi-chi, chy nyny-mba-se usuru-qa
skinl=I-POS leather-GEN-be so tolerate-PRES-3PS weather-all
My skin is (made of) leather, so it tolerates any weather.
3PS: He, she or it.
PRES: Present

Phavika-ihynaka-chiqe,
/pʰavi’ka ihyna’ka ‘t͡ʃiqe/
phavika ihy-naka chi-qe
factory-smoke-productor be-I
I am a smoke-factory (something which produces nothing),
Phavika is a loanword from Spanish (from ‘fábrica’). Borrowing are quite common in this conlang.

Ruqa isygi nakana qosumbu-chaha yo,
/ru’qa i’syha na’kana qosum’bu t͡ʃa’hajo/
ruqa isy-ha naka-na qosumbu=cha-ha=yo
people-crops-GEN produce-IP consumption=you-POS=DAT
Peasants working for your consumption.

Andumbaraha ká  ytiri qophi,
/andumba’ɽaha kã y’tiɽi qo’pʰi/
andumbaraha-ká yti-ri qophi
summer-when brief.period.of.time-PL cold
Cold periods during summer
PL = plural (-ri, -ak for objects of transitive verbs (accusative plural)).

Anduri pyniñe’iha ká ya’i, chana-qeha.
/an’duɽi pyniɲe’ʔiha kã ja’ʔi | t͡ʃa’na ‘qeha/
andu-ri piniñe’i-ha ká ya’i, chana=qe-ha
time-PL madness-POS when love, brother=I-POS
Love in the times of cholera, o brother o’mine.
This verse is a reference to Colombian writer Gabriel García Márquez’s El Amor en Tiempos de Cólera (Love in the times of cholera).

Mbar ñymbana, dini sutuna
/ṽaɽ ɲym’bana, di’ni su’tuna/
Mbar ñymba-na, dini sutu-na
Sun be.born-IP, day die-PI
The rising sun, the dying day

Sunari gíny’i ta.
/su’naɽi gĩ¡ny ta/
suna-ri gí-ny’i ta
sunset-PL good-most with
With the best sunsets.

Desarruchu yawa na chiqe.
/desa’rut͡ʃu ja’wa na ‘t͡ʃiqe/
desarruchu yawa na chi-qe
development blood LOC be-I
I am the development which (I bring) in the blood.
As in ‘developing countries’.

Pinde puritiqa si’ivy tañe.
/pin’de puɽiti’qa siʔi’vy ‘taɲe/
pinde puritiqa si’ivy tañe
saying politic spittle without
A spittle-less political discourse.

Naha’ak niriny’i tahini-qeyo.
/na’haʔak niɽiny’ʔi ta’hini ‘qejo/
naha-ak niri-ny’i tahini=qe-yo
face-PL beautiful-most known=I-DAT
The most beautiful faces I have ever met.

Photugapiya andesaparisitu ta.
/pʰotugapi’ja andesapaɽisi’tu ta/
photugapiya a+desaparisitu ta
photograph NOMN-desaparecido with
The photograph of a desaparecido.
The desaparecidos (disappeared) were those secretly arrested and murdered during dictatorial governments in South-America.

Yawachiqe yawysari-chaha na.
/jawa’t͡ʃiqe jawi’saɽi ‘t͡ʃaha na/
yawa-chi-qe yawysa-ri=cha-ha na
blodod-be-I vein-PL=you-POS LOC
I am the blood in your veins.

Mbanate gygy usuri yo.
/ṽa’nate gy’gy u’suɽi jo/
mbana-te gygy usu-ri yo
land-part good.enough action-PL DAT
A bit of land things are worth for.

Qanda puchuri ta.
/qan’da pu’t͡ʃuɽi ta/
qanda puchu-ri ta
basket bean-PL with
A basket with beans.

Maradona ‘ahu Ígaterra, sá gurak-saque
/maɽa’duna ‘ʔahu ĩga’tera sã ‘guɽak ‘sakʷe/
Maradona ‘ahu Ígaterra, sá gur-ak=sa-que
Maradona against England, two goal-PL=make-AP
(Diego) Maradona scoring two goals against England.

Aphandaquechiqe vandera-qeha-ha.
/apʰan’dakʷe ‘t͡ʃiqw vande’ɽa ‘qeha ha/
a+panda-que-chi-qe vandera=qe-ha-ha
NOMN-support-AP-be-I flag=I-POS-POS
I am what supports my flag.

Mbuniri-qeha qochari achaha Mbanaha chi.
/ṽu’niɽi ‘qeha qo’t͡ʃaɽi a’t͡ʃahaṽa’naha t͡ʃi/
mbuni-ri=qe-ha qocha-ri acha-ha Mbana-ha chi.
mountain-PL=I-POS bone-PL back-POS Earth-POS be.
My mountains are the spine of the planet.

Pinderi tataqe gi chiqe:
/pin’deɽi ta’taqe gi ‘t͡ʃiqe/
pinde-ri tata-qe gu chi-qe
saying-PL father-I GEN be-I
I am what my father said:

Ñe mbanak a’imba chy ñe nanak a’imba.
/ɲe ṽa’nak a’ʔimba t͡ʃy ɲe na’nak a’ʔimba/
ñe mbana-k a’i-mba chy ñe nana-k a’i-mba.
no land-ACC love-PRES so no mother-ACC love-PRES
If one doesn’t love his land, one doesn’t love his mother.
ACC = Accusative.

Ambirikaratina-chiqe,
/ambiɽiˌkaɽa’tina ‘t͡ʃiqe/
Ambirikaratina-chi-qe
Latin.America-be-I
I am Latin America,

Ruqa tehari tañe wepa nána.
/ru’qa te’haɽi ‘taɲe ‘wepa ‘nãna/
ruqa teha-ri tañe wepa ná-na
people leg-PL without but walk-IP
A folk with no legs but able to walk.

Chorus (I marked it in blue so as to be easier to find, as it appears several times):

Warak ñe sununycha.
/wa’ɽak ɲe sunu’nyt͡ʃa/

wara-k ñe sunu-ny-cha
wind-ACC no buy-able-you

You can’t buy the wind

Mbaruk ñe sununy.
/ṽa’ɽuk ɲe sunu’ny/

Mbar-k ñe sunu-ny
Sun-ACC no
buy-able.
You can’t buy the sun.

Suru’ak ñe sununycha.
/su’ɽuʔak ɲe sunu’nyt͡ʃa/
suru-ak ñe sunu-ny-cha
rain-PL.ACC no buy-able-you

You can’t buy the rain.

Húq ñe sununy.
/hũq ɲe sunu’ny/

hú-k ñe sunu-ny
heat-ACC no
buy-able.
You can’t buy heat.

Chaqeyak ñe sununycha.
/t͡ʃa’qejak ɲe sunu’nyt͡ʃa/

chaqe-ak ñe sunu-ny-cha
cloud-PL.ACC no
buy-able-you
You can’t buy the clouds.

Sa’iyak ñe sununy.
/sa’ʔijak ɲe sunu’ny/

sa’i-ak ñe sunu-ny
color-PL.ACC no
buy-able.
You can’t buy the colors.

Isík-qeha ñe sununycha.
/i’sĩk ‘qeha ɲe sunu’nyt͡ʃa/
isí-k=qe-ha ñe sunu-ny-cha
joy-ACC=I-POS no
buy-able-you
You can’t buy my joy.

Rakíyak ñe sununy.
/ra’kĩjak ɲe sunu’ny/

rakí-ak ñe sunu-ny
pain-PL.ACC no
buy-able.
You can’t buy (my) pain.

Waqu’ak qehachi, iwa’ak qehachi.
/wa’quʔak qeha’t͡ʃi | i’waʔak qe’hat͡ʃi/
waqu-ak qe-ha-chi, iwa’-ak qe-ha-chi
lake-PL.ACC I-POS-be, river-PL.ACC I-POS-be
I have my lakes, I have my rivers.
Literally: Lakes are mine, rivers are mine.

Qoku’ak qehachi isiqo yo.
/qo’kuʔak qe’hat͡ʃi isi’qo jo/
qoku-ak qe-ha-chi isiqo yo
tooth-PL.ACC I-POS-be smile DAT
I have my teeth for smiling.

Ripi mbuniyak-qeha sa’isumbe.
/ri’pi ṽu’nijak ‘qeha saʔi’sumbe/
ripi mbuni-ak=qe-ha sa’i-su-mbe.
snow mountain-PL.ACC=I-POS color-CAUS-PRES.
The snow that paints my mountains.
CAUS = Causative.

Mbar qek supique, suriri qek wahuque.
/ṽaɽ qek su’pikʷe, su’ɽiɽi qek wa’hukʷe/
Mbar qe-k supi-que, suri-ri qe-k wahu-que
Sun I-ACC dry-AP, rain-PL I-ACC make.wet-AP
The sun which dries me, the rain which makes me wet.

Waye’i tukata piyoti ta.
/waje’ʔi tuka’ta pijo’ti ta/
waye’i tukata piyoti ta
desert tipsy peyote with
A desert which is drunk with peyote.

Yaquati purqe-gi su’i yo qoyotiri ta.
/jakʷa’ti puɽ’qegi su’ʔi jo qojo’tiɽi ta/
qaquati purqe-gi su’i yo qoyoti-ri ta.
shot(drink) pulque-GEN sing DAT coyote-PL with
A shot of pulque (a drink) to sing with the coyotes.

Ahawani qeyo.
/aha’wani ‘qejo/
a+hawa-ni qe-yo
NOMN-need-IP I-DAT
Everything I need.

Yehu’  surú-chakak ‘ihuque qehachi.
/je’huʔ su’ɽũ t͡ʃa’kak ʔi’hukʷe qe’hat͡ʃi/
yehu’ surú-chaka-k ‘ihu-que qe-ha-chi
lungs blue-white-ACC breathe-AP I-POS-be
I have my lungs which breathe (clear) “bright blue” air.

Iñe’í mbuniriha.
/iɲe’ʔĩ ṽu’niɽiˌha/
iñe’í mbuni-ri-ha
altitude.sickness mountain-PL-POS
The height of the mountains which makes you feel sick.

Qoqotuqa vu-qeha kuqa’ak qochuque chiqe.
/qoqo’tuqa ‘vuqeha ku’qaʔak qo’t͡ʃukʷe ‘t͡ʃike/
qoqotu-qa vu=qe-ha kuqa-ak qochu-que chi-qe
molar-all mouth=I-POS coca-PL.ACC chew-AP be-I
The molars in my mouth chewing coca.

Turý sunýri ychi-tuqana ta.
/tu’ɽỹ su’nỹɽi y’t͡ʃi tu’qana ta/
turý suný-ri ychi.tuqa-na ta
autumn leaf-PL faint-IP with
The autumn with (its) fainted leaves.

Gunde dirita ká virsu’ak kivini.
/gun’de diɽi’ta kã ‘viɽ’suʔak ki’vini/
gunde dirita ká virsu-ak kivi-ni
night starry when verse-PL.ACC write-PP
Verses written during a starry night.

Uvanku qatani uva’ak ta.
/u’vaŋku qa’tani u’vaʔakta/
uva-anku qata-ni uva-ak ta
grapple-tree fill-IP grapple-ACC.PL with
A grapevine full of grapples.

Mbar Kuva-ha nu mbata’a.
/ṽaɽ ku’vaha nu ṽata’ʔa/
Mbar Kuva-ha nu mbata’a
Sun Cuba-POS under reed.field
A reed field under Cuba’s sun.

Wahasutáchiqe chiyapha’ak nytaque
/wahasu’tã ‘t͡ʃiqe t͡ʃija’pʰaʔak ny’takʷe/
Wahasutá-chi-qe ch<iy>apha-ak nytaque
Caribbean-be-I house<DIMINUTIVE>-PL.ACC protect-PA
I am the Caribbean Sea which protects the little houses

Wariri-awavindita ta.
/wa’ɽiɽi awavindi’ta ta/
wari-ri-awavindita ta
spell-PL-holy.water with
Making rituals with holy water.

Wara chirik-qeha chirisaque.
/wa’ɽa t͡ʃi’ɽik ‘qeha t͡ʃiɽi’sakʷe/
wara chiri=qe-ha chirisa-que
wind hair-ACC=I-POS comb-AP
The wind that combs my hair.

Qoru-qeha na sátuqa-chiqe.
/qo’ɽu ‘qeha na sã’tuqa’t͡ʃiqe/
qoru=qe-ha na sátu-qa-chi-qe
neck=I-POS LOC saint-all-be-I
I am all the saints on my neck.

Ágiri sumbeha-qeha ñe suruqachi;
/ã’giɽi sum’beha ‘qeha ɲe suɽu’qat͡ʃi/
ági-ri sumbe-ha=qe-ha ñe suruqa-chi
fruit-PL fight-POS=I_POS no artificial-be
My fight’s fruit isn’t artificial

Avunu mbanaha-qeha mbágichi weyi qy.
/avu’nu ṽa’naha ‘qeha ṽã’git͡ʃi ‘weji qy/
avunu mbana-ha=qe-ha mbági-chi weyi qy
fertilizer land-POS=I-POS natural-be because that
For the fertilizer of my land is natural.

Chorus (identical to the one in blue above).

Chorus in portuguese, here rendered with Inaí:

T’a ‘ol sunnýhý.
/tʼá ʔól sũ’nyːxýː/
t’a ‘ol sunu-ny-hý
you wind buy-able-not

You can’t buy the wind.

T’á Wál sunnýhý
/tʼá wál sũ’nyːxýː/

t’a Wál sunu-ny-hý
you Sun buy-able-not

You can’t buy the sun.

T’á sullá sunnýhý
/tʼá sul’lá sũ’nyːxýː/

t’a súl-a sunu-ny-hý
you rain-PL.ACC buy-able-not

You can’t but the rain.

T’á rún sunnýhý
/tʼá rún sũ’nyːxýː/

t’a rún sunu-ny-hý
you heat buy-able-not

You can’t buy heat.

T’á t’ak’á sunnýhý
/tʼá tʼa’kʼá sũ’nyːxýː/

t’a t’ák-a sunu-ny-hý
you cloud-PL.ACC buy-able-not

You can’t buy the clouds.

T’á saya sunnýhý
/tʼá ‘saja sũ’nyːxýː/

t’a sai-a sunu-ny-hý
you color-PL.ACC buy-able-not

You can’t buy the colors.

T’á sín-k’é sunnýhý
/tʼá sĩːŋ’kʼé sũ’nyːxýː/

t’a sín-k’é  sunu-ny-hý
you joy-I.POS buy-able-not

You can’t buy my joy.

T’á léŋ-k’é sunnýhý
/tʼá leːŋ’kʼé sũ’nyːxýː/

t’a léŋ-k’é  sunu-ny-hý
you pain-I.POS buy-able-not

You can’t buy my pain.

Mbaruk ñe sununy.
/ṽa’ɽuk ɲe sunu’ny/
Mbar-k ñe sunu-ny
Sun-ACC no buy-able.
You can’t buy the sun.

Suru’ak ñe sununycha.
/su’ɽuʔak ɲe sunu’nyt͡ʃa/
suru-ak ñe sunu-ny-cha
rain-PL.ACC no buy-able-yoú
You can’t buy the rain.

The second part of the following verses is also in Inaí:

Nándemba… Ai o iká na
/nãndem’ba‖ai̯ o i’ká na/
ná-nde-mba | ai o iká na
walk-PRES-we | love and laugh in
We are walking… In love and in laugh…

Nándemba… Léng o kunna na
/nãndem’ba‖léŋ o ‘kũna na/
ná-nde-mba | leŋ o kunna na
walk-PRES-we | pain and  crying in
We are walking… In pain and in crying…

Isak tephambe… Mbar…
/i’sak te’pʰambe ‖ ṽaɽ/
isa-k tepha-mbe | Mbar
path-ACC draw-PRES | sun
We are drawing the path… The sun…

Chambak-qeha ñe sununycha.
/t͡ʃam’bak ‘qeha ɲe sunu’nyt͡ʃa/
chamba-k=qe-ha ñe sunu-ny-cha
life-ACC=I-POS no buy-able-you
You can’t buy my life.

Nándemba… Mbanak ñe uvindípha.
/nãndem’ba ‖ ṽa’nak ɲe uvin’dĩpʰa/
ná-nde-mba | mbana-k ñe [u)+vindi-(n]-pha
walk-PRES-we | land-ACC no sell[FUTURE]-we(excl)
We are walking… Our land is not at sale.
Pitá Ruqaha has two pronouns which may be translated as “we”:  inclusive (mba) and exclusive (pha).

Wehu-mbutu wepa suyú ta.
/we’hu ‘ṽutu ‘wepa su’jũ ta/
wehu.mbutu wepa suyú ta
gross.jobs but dignity with
Gross jobs, though with dignity.

Qyna tambundemba, qeha chaha chi.
/’qyna tambundem’ba | ‘qeha ‘t͡ʃaga t͡ʃu/
qyna tambu-nde-mba, qe-ha cha-ha chi
here share-PRES-we I-POS you-POS be
Here people shares, what’s mine is yours.

Qy-ruqa chakuqak nynymba
/qyru’qa t͡ʃa’kuqak nynym’ba/
qy-ruqa chaqu-qa-k nyny-mba
this-town wave-all-ACC stand-PRES
These folks can stand any wave

Wa quapendese chy qyk susuqá tupha.
/wa kʷapende’se t͡ʃy qyk susu’qã tu’pʰa/
wa quape-nde-se chy qy-k [u)+suqa-(n] tupha
anddestroy-PRES.I-3PS then it-ACC build-[FUT] again
And if it is destroyed, I’ll rebuild it!

Chak taqoque ká ñe chirandeqe;
/t͡ʃak ta’qokʷe kã ɲe t͡ʃiɽande’qe/
cha-k taqo-que ká ñe chira-nde-qe
you-ACC see-AP while no blink-PRES.I-I
I don’t blink when I look at you;;

Apirindu-qeha umbiwácha yo.
/api’ɽindu ‘qeha umbi’wãt͡ʃa jo/
apirindu=qe-ha [u)+mbiwa-(n]-cha yo
surname=I-POS remember-[FUT]-you DAT
So that you remember my surname..

Ta’iqa-Kundur nána tapa-qeha yo…
/taʔi’qa kun’duɽ ‘nãna ta’pa ‘qeha jo/
ta’iqa-Kundur ná-na tapa=qe-ha yo
Operation Condor go-IP nest=I-POS DAT
Operation Condor invading my nest…

‘ukámbaqe wepa ñe tuqávimba.
/ʔukãmba’qe ‘wepa ɲe tuqã’vimba/
‘uka-mba-qe wepa ñe tuqávi-mba
forgive-PRES-I but no forget-PRES
I forgive but I don’t forget.

Nándemba…
/nãndem’ba/
ná-nde-mba
walk-PRES-we
We are walking… 

Qyna sumbek ‘ihuny.
/’qyna sum’bek ʔi’huny/
qyna sumbe-k ‘ihu-ny
here fight-ACC breathe-able
You can breathe the fight (spirit) here.

Nándemba…
/nãndem’ba/
We are walking

Qyk qoramba weyi su’imbaqe
/qyk qo’ɽamba ‘weji suʔimba’qe/
qy-k qora-mba weyi su’i-mba-qe
it-ACC hear-PRES because sing-PRES-I
I sing because it is listened.

Isak tephambe…
/i’sak te’pʰambe/
We are drawing the path…

P’óo múp’er…
/’pʼóɔ ‘múːʼpeʀ/

p’ó~o múp-er
voice~PL heart-POS

Voices from the heart…
(This verse is written in Inaí)

Nándemba…
/nãndem’ba/
We are walking

Qyna phorindipha!
/’qyna pʰoɽindi’pʰa/
qyna phori-nde-pha
here stand-PRES-we(excl)
Here we’re standing upright!

Chamba Ambirika yo!
/t͡ʃam’ba ambiɽi’ka jo/
chamba Ambirika yo
life America DAT
Long live to America (American continent)!

Chambak-qeha ñe sununycha.
/t͡ʃam’bak ‘qeha ɲe sunu’nyt͡ʃa/
chamba-k=qe-ha ñe sunu-ny-cha
life-ACC=I-POS no buy-able-you
You cant buy my life.

That’s all for today. See you!

Posted on 2011/11/09, in English, Pitá Ruqaha (en). Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

